About Our Cannabis Treatments.

Please Note: This office is not a dispensary and keeps no medication on hand.

Office Policy and Procedures

Medical Records

A minimum of 2 years medical records documenting your qualifying disease is required. Your records must be from a licensed physician that has treated or is currently treating you for the qualifying disease. Your records must be sent to our office no less than 5 days prior to your appointment. This gives our Providers time to review and prepare for your visit.  If your records have not been received, we will have to cancel your appointment. No exceptions can be made.

Insurance Information

The services we provide are not covered by your insurance and full payment is due at the time of service. We will not file your insurance for any services relating to Medical Cannabis Treatment. You will be given a waiver form to sign that acknowledges your understanding of this policy.

Our providers will do an initial assessment of your condition to see is you are eligible for treatment with the Medical Cannabis oil. If you qualify, we must register you with the State of Georgia. This registration is required by law. Please keep in mind that not all persons will qualify for the program.

How To Qualify 

In order to qualify for exemption from prosecution for possession of marijuana oil in Georgia, the patient must suffer from one of these qualifying illnesses:

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), when such diagnosis is severe or end stage.

Cancer, when such diagnosis is end stage or the treatment produces related wasting illness, recalcitrant nausea and vomiting.

Sickle Cell Disease
(when such diagnosis is severe or end stage.)

Parkinson’s Disease,
(when such diagnosis is severe or end stage.)

Multiple Sclerosis,
(when such diagnosis is severe or end stage.)

Seizure disorders related to the diagnosis of epilepsy or trauma related head injuries.

Mitochondrial Disease

Crohn 's Disease

Alzheimer's Disease

Tourette's syndrome

Peripheral Neuropathy (pain that radiates)

State Information on Medical Cannabis Certification

Georgia's new medical marijuana law allows certain qualified persons to legally possess
up 20 fluid ounces of "Low THC oil," which is derived from the marijuana plant. It authorizes the Georgia Department of Public Health to issue a "Low THC Oil Registry Card" to qualified persons, which will prove that they are authorized to have the oil and protect them from arrest. For more information please visit https://dph.georgia.gov/low-thc-oil-faq-general-public

Important Information 

There are three categories of persons who may apply for the card: 
an adult (age 18+) who has one or more of the diseases specified in the law, and who is a resident of the State of Georgia; 

1.    Legal guardians of an adult who has one or more of the diseases specified in the law, and who is a resident of the State of Georgia; 

2.    Parents or legal guardians of a minor child who has one or more of the diseases specified in the law, and is a resident of Georgia or was born in Georgia. 

The Georgia Medical Marijuana law is quite specific in key areas.

1.   The only form of marijuana the Card provides protection for is Low THC Oil. This is
defined as commercially-produced marijuana oil with no more than 5% THC, and a
1:1 ratio of THC vs CBD. The oil must be in a clearly-labeled pharmaceutical
container. Residents with the card can possess up to 20 fluid ounces of Low THC
Oil at any one time.

2.   However, the law does not make it legal to buy Low THC Oil, and it doesn't make it legal
to sell it, even to patients with cards. Yes, that sounds tricky and correcting
this has been an ongoing discussion in the Legislature. Yet, the thousands of
Georgia residents who have a card are buying and using Low THC Oil regularly,
so it appears law enforcement officials will take into consideration the
difficulty this situation presents for persons with serious illnesses. While Genesis
Healthcare Associates not aware of any incidents where a cardholder has
encountered trouble with law enforcement, you should exercise caution in this
area.

3.   The same is true for employment situations. The law did not provide protection for
employees who run afoul of employer regulations, drug tests, etc. The Low THC
Oil in your system will produce a positive reading on a urine test. Each person
has to determine whether to discuss their Low THC Oil use with their employer,
manager or HR department based on his/her own particular situation.

4.   Furthermore, the 5% level that Georgia allows is above the current Federal limit. (.3%) This
means possession of Medical Marijuana, legal in Georgia, is against Federal
law. This is likely the same case for all states with marijuana laws. You are
advised against traveling by commercial carrier with the oil. Driving in your
own car may have certain risks as well, as not all states allow marijuana,
medical or otherwise, and none recognize a card issued by another state.

 After one year period, the patient must re-qualify by submitting an updated Low THC Oil Waiver, or whichever document the State of Georgia may require at that time.

Qualifying for and receiving a medical marijuana card for Georgia residents is simple and
straightforward. Persons who have been diagnosed by a physician for one or more
of the qualifying illnesses listed must have that diagnosis authenticated by a
medical professional certified to determine eligibility.

Following your appointment, if you qualify, our providers will enter your patient information into the Georgia state medical marijuana internet portal.

The medical marijuana card is issued by the State Department of Health, generally within one to five business days. Patients are notified when and where to pick up their card, usually the closest County Health Department office. There is a $25 fee for the card levied by the
Department of Vital Records.

The medical marijuana card is valid for two years, but there are follow-up appointments required to maintain verification during that period. For your safety, Genesis Healthcare
Associates conducts follow-up appointments every three to six months, depending
on your condition. The appointments are centered on learning to what extent you
are taking medical marijuana and how effective the medical marijuana may be in
relieving your symptoms.

Failure to keep your follow-up appointments will result in revocation of your certificate.